Thursday, February 9, 2023

And the winners of the GOLDEN GLOBES 2022 are…

Must Read

It’s a wrap for ‘Kisi Ka Bhai Kisi Ki Jaan’; Movie to release on Eid 2023

Superstar Salman Khan recently lit up the screens with his appearance in Shah Rukh Khan's Pathaan, leaving audiences in...

Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani postponed once again; Averts clash with Ponniyin Selvan: Part 2

Fans eagerly anticipate Karan Johar's return as a director with Rocky Aur Rani Ki Prem Kahani. The film's lead...

MS Dhoni announces title of his first Tamil film production, starring Harish Kalyan and Ivana

Former captain of the Indian national cricket team, Mahendra Singh Dhoni announced in October 2022 that he would be...


Hollywood’s biggest awards, the 79th Golden Globes took place on January 9, 2022, wherein the best of the Film and American television were honored. Albeit this time, the event was quite unusual as the winners were declared via a press release by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association and not in the typical red carpet televised way. This call by HFPA was made due to big media houses like Netflix and NBC boycotting the ceremony because of the ethical issues surrounding the group that hands out the awards.

The nominations for the awards were announced in December and we finally have the list of winners of the prestigious awards with us.

Squid game Actor O Yeong Su won his first Golden Globe in the best supporting actor. ‘HACKS’ emerged victorious as the best television comedy and Actress Jean Smart as the best comedy actress. Actor Jason Sudeikis won the best comedy Actor for Ted Lasso.

Jane Campion’s western The power of the dog and Kenneth Branagh’s semi-autobiographical coming-of-age film Belfast led nominations with seven nods each. ‘The power of the dog’ became the second film directed by a woman to win the Best Drama prize. The film likewise won for Best Director and Best Supporting Actor for Kodi Smit-McPhee.

Steven Spielberg’s ‘West Side Story’ remake claimed the best comedy or musical, as well as lead and supporting actress prizes for stars Rachel Zegler and Ariana DeBose


Here’s a list of all the winners-

Best motion picture — drama

“King Richard”
“The Power of the Dog” – WINNER

Actor in a motion picture — drama

Mahershala Ali (“Swan Song”)
Javier Bardem (“Being the Ricardos”)
Benedict Cumberbatch (“The Power of the Dog”)
Will Smith (“King Richard”) – WINNER
Denzel Washington (“The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Actress in a motion picture — drama

Jessica Chastain (“The Eyes of Tammy Faye”)
Olivia Colman (“The Lost Daughter”)
Nicole Kidman (“Being the Ricardos”) – WINNER
Lady Gaga (“House of Gucci”)
Kristen Stewart (“Spencer”)

Best motion picture — musical or comedy

“Don’t Look Up”
“Licorice Pizza”
“Tick, Tick…Boom!”
“Westside story” – WINNER

Actor in a motion picture — musical or comedy

Leonardo DiCaprio (“Don’t Look Up”)
Peter Dinklage (“Cyrano”)
Andrew Garfield (“Tick, Tick…Boom!”) – WINNER
Cooper Hoffman, “Licorice Pizza”
Anthony Ramos, “In the Heights”

Actress in a motion picture — musical or comedy

Marion Cotillard (“Annette”)
Alana Haim (“Licorice Pizza”)
Jennifer Lawrence (“Don’t Look Up”)
Emma Stone (“Cruella”)
Rachel Zegler (“West Side Story”) – WINNER

Supporting actor in a motion picture

Ben Affleck, “The Tender Bar”
Jamie Dornan (“Belfast”)
Ciarán Hinds (“Belfast”)
Troy Kotsur (“CODA”)
Kodi Smit-McPhee (“The Power of the Dog”) – WINNER

Supporting actress in a motion picture

Caitriona Balfe (“Belfast”)
Ariana DeBose (“West Side Story”) – WINNER
Kirsten Dunst (“The Power of the Dog”)
Aunjanue Ellis (“King Richard”)
Ruth Negga (“Passing”)

Director — motion picture

Kenneth Branagh (“Belfast”)
Jane Campion (“The Power of the Dog”) – WINNER
Maggie Gyllenhaal (“The Lost Daughter”)
Steven Spielberg (“West Side Story”)
Denis Villeneuve (“Dune”)

Screenplay — motion picture

‘Being the Ricardos”

“Belfast” – WINNER
“Don’t Look Up”
“Licorice Pizza”
“The Power of the Dog”

Motion picture — foreign language

“Compartment No. 6” (Juho Kuosmanen, Finland)
“Drive My Car” (Ryûsuke Hamaguchi, Japan) – WINNER
“The Hand of God” (Paolo Sorrentino, Italy)
“A Hero” (Asghar Farhadi, Iran)
“Parallel Mothers” (Pedro Almodovar, Spain)

Motion picture — animated

“Encanto” – WINNER

“My Sunny Maad”
“Raya and the Last Dragon”

Original score — motion picture

“Dune” — Hans Zimmer – WINNER
“Encanto” — Germaine Franco
“The French Dispatch” — Alexandre Desplat
“Parallel Mothers” — Alberto Iglesias
“The Power of the Dog” — Jonny Greenwood

Original song — motion picture

“Be Alive” from “King Richard”
“Dos Oruguitas” from “Encanto”
“Down to Joy” from “Belfast”
“Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” from “Respect”
“No time to Die” from “No Time to Die” – WINNER

Television series — drama

“The Morning Show”
“Squid Game”
“Succession” – WINNER

Actor in a television series — drama

Brian Cox, “Succession”
Lee Jung-Jae, “Squid Game”
Billy Porter, “Pose”
Jeremy Strong, “Succession” – WINNER
Omar Sy, “Lupin”

Actress in a television series — drama

Uzo Aduba, “In Treatment”
Jennifer Aniston, “The Morning Show”
Christine BaranaskiBaranski,, “The Good Fight”
Elisabeth Moss, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, “Pose” – WINNER

Television series — musical or comedy

“The Great”
“Hacks” – WINNER
“Only Murders in the Building”
“Reservation Dogs”
“Ted Lasso”

Actor in a television series — musical or comedy

Anthony Anderson, “black-ish”
Nicholas Hoult, “The Great”
Steve Martin, “Only Murders in the Building”
Martin Short, “Only Murders in the Building”
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso” – WINNER

Actress in a television series — musical or comedy

Hannah Einbeinder, “Hacks”
Elle Fanning, “The Great”
Issa Rae, “Insecure”
Tracee Ellis Ross, “black-ish”
Jean Smart, “Hacks” – WINNER

Limited series, anthology series, or motion picture made for television

“Impeachment: American Crime Story”
“Mare of Easttown”
“The Underground Railroad” – WINNER

Actor in a limited series, anthology series, or motion picture made for television

Paul Bettany, “WandaVision”
Oscar Isaac, “Scenes from a Marriage”
Michael Keaton, “Dopesick” – WINNER
Ewan McGregor, “Halston”

Actress in a limited series, anthology series or, motion picture made for television

Jessica Chastain, “Scenes from a Marriage”
Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”
Elizabeth Olsen, “WandaVision”
Margaret Qualley, “Maid”
Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown” – WINNER

Supporting actor — television

Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show”
Kieran Culkin, “Succession”
Mark Duplass, “The Morning Show”
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
O Yeong-Su, “Squid Game” – WINNER

Supporting actress — television

Jennifer Coolidge, “White Lotus”
Kaitlyn Dever, “Dopesick”
Andie MacDowell, “Maid”
Sarah Snook, “Succession” – WINNER
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”

Latest News

English Vinglish featuring Sridevi to debut in 6000 cinemas in China on her fifth death anniversary

Late Bollywood legend Sridevi's iconic film English Vinglish is set to be re-released in China on February 24th, marking the fifth anniversary of the...

Shah Rukh Khan wins the internet with a reply to his toddler fan who didn’t like Pathaan

Shah Rukh Khan, a world-famous Bollywood actor, has a massive following, as evidenced by the strong box office numbers of his recent film "Pathaan."...

Bigg Boss season 6 winner Urvashi Dholakia meets with car accident in Mumbai

Urvashi Dholakia, the actress and winner of Bigg Boss Season 6, experienced a car accident yesterday evening while en route to a film shoot...

Filmmaker Kabir Khan on the Bollywood vs South debate: “We are doing too much”

2022 was a disappointing year for Bollywood, as only a few films were successful at the box office. On the other hand, South Indian...

More Articles Like This